Smart Energy Conference Agenda 2019 is Coming Soon.

The following is the SE2018 Agenda
Registration Opens at 7:30 AM Each Day

8:30–9:15 am

Room A Stantec Workshop Session
Room B Schneider Workshop Session- User Cases: Community Microgrids

Andy Haun and Pratap Revuru

Room C Springboard Workshop Session

9:15-9:45 am

Network Break

9:45-10:30 am

Room A Siemens Workshop Session- Introduction to Siemens Power Academy- Eric Drummond & Steve Flogeras
Room B Stewart McKelvey Workshop Session- Confidentiality and Non-Disclosure Agreements – Sadira Jan
Room C Springboard Workshop Session

10:30-11:15 am

Network Break

11:15 am-12:00 pm

Room A -SMART CITIES Session- Success in Smart Energy
Ramona Doyle- Chief Sustainability Officer- City of Charlottetown
Greg Gaudet– Director of Municipal Services- Summerside
Leon de Vreede- Sustainability Planner- Bridgewater
Moderator: Sadie Jan- Stewart McKelvey

Room B Springboard Workshop Session

Room C – Bio Talent Workshop Session

ALL AM- 1v1 Meetings by appointment

12:00-12:30 pm

Network and Buffet Lunch

12:30-1:00 pm

Keynote I- The New Energy Consumer

1:00-1:15 pm

Network Break

1:15–2:00 pm

Keynote II Energy Disruptors
Bruce Orloff- Associate Partner- IBM Energy and Utilities
Michel Carreau- Director Hybrid Energy- Hatch
Moderator: Wayne Groszko- NSCC

2:00–2:30 pm

Network Break

2:30–3:15 pm

Room A: The New Energy Consumer
Patty Durand- President and CEO – Smart Energy Consumer Collective
Michel Losier- Executive Director, Energy Efficiency and Customer Engagement- NB Power
Naomi Manley- Casimir- Managing Director, Accenture Innovation Centre for Utilities- Accenture

Room B: EV Transit Systems and Municipal Solutions
Dr. Josipa Petrunic– Executive Director & CEO- CUTRIC
Frederic Delrieu- Electromobility and Advanced Product Leader- Nova Bus

Room C: Community Hackathon -Finding solutions for community energy challenges

3:15- 3:45 pm

Network Break

3:45–4:30 pm

Room A: Energy Storage -Technologies, projects and innovations
Mike Voll– Global Sector Leader- Grid Modernization Services – Stantec
Mike Jackson- Market Development Director- Advanced Microgrid Solutions
Alexander McIsaac- Energy Storage Canada
Moderator: Martin Rovers- Director of Smart Grid- Emera

Room B: Wind -The frontiers of offshore and enablers
Michelle Chislett- Country Manager- Northland Power
Diane Sanzone- AECOM

Room C: Research Spotlight- Project Updates from Nova Scotia Community College, Dalhousie University, University of New Brunswick, St. Mary’s University and others.

4:30–5:15 pm

Pipeline Pitches

5:15–7:00 pm

Kitchen Party Reception

8:30–9:15 am

Keynote IIIAtlantic Energy Focus – Provincial Ministers share their views for future energy projects and programs to meet the new consumer trends.
Hon. Geoff MacLellan– Minister of Energy- Province of Nova Scotia.
Hon. Rick Doucet– Minister of Energy- Province of New Brunswick
Kim Horrelt- CEO, PEI Energy Corporation
Gordon McIntosh- Deputy Minister, Department of Natural Resources- Province of Newfoundland and Labrador
Moderator: Stephen MacDonald- Efficiency One

9:15–9:45 am

Network Break

9:45- 10:30 am

Keynote IV – Utilities & Electrification – True cost of Electrification, Tomorrow’s Utilities, Impact of Energy Transformation
Gaetan Thomas- President and CEO, NB Power

10:30-10:45 am

Network Break

10:45- 11:30 am

Room A: Smart Grid Challenges & Opportunities – An interactive discussion to share the people, process, technology, organizational and business model aspects of the transitioning electricity sector.
Dr. Trevor Nightingale- Director- Buildings Operation Resource Unit- National Research Council
Sherry Thomson- Chief Human Resource Officer- NB Power
Dr. Dhirendra Shukla- Director – Professor & Chair – Technology Management & Entrepreneurship (TME) Program, University of New Brunswick
Moderator: Greg Robart- Global Lead – Managed Transition, Energy Business Advisory, Siemens Canada

Room B: Ocean Energy – Emerging technologies, storageand disruptors
Alisdair McLean- Business Development- Open Hydro
Shelley MacDougall- Professor Emiritas- Acadia University
Sheila Patterson- Chief Operating Officer – COVE OCEAN

Room C: Solar – Advances in technologies and applications
Patrick Bateman-CEO, CANSIA
Andy Haun- Schneider Electric



11:45-12:30 pm

Room A: Smart Applications for the Energy Consumer
Iuliana Calin- Head of Energy Partnerships- Canada- NESTLABS
Moderator: Mark Wilson- Canada East Power Sector Leader- Stantec

Room B: New England Energy Corridor
Mark Vasu- Executive VP- Greentown Labs
Ben Davis- Senior Project Manager- Concentric Energy Advisors
Jon Sorenson- Executive Consultant- Ameresco, President -NECBC (New England Canadian Business Council)

Room C: Project Spotlight- Join this session to hear about some amazing work being done in Smart Energy from:
Efficiency NS, QUEST, CAGBC, COVE, Solar NS and others

12:30–1:30 pm

General Luncheon- Keynote V Introduction: Dr. Alice Aiken, Dalhousie University

1:30 pm

Pitch Winners and Close Main Session

2:00-4:00 pm

Offsite Tours (Travel to prearranged sites, demos, labs, infrastructure)- NSCC